When I was a child

By Victor Munguía

When I was a child
I had a little pond
Where wild ducks
Played and swam

A child is happy
Watching the life around
Climbing mountains
Having dreams

Another day in Earth
people walk along,
drive, ride, love, hate
work, smile, cry.

I woke up with the sunrise
and I was no more an infant
I couldn’t stay home
I had to join the rest.

When I was a child
I used to believe
and reach the glory
of sunday mornings

In a House of Pray
We built your name
thorough eternity
Beyond all faiths

Give me the strength
to lead my words the path
I swore to follow
when I was a child

I have no complaints,
It’s only my pure soul as yesterday
in this part of the cosmos
watching the world stopless go by

If a new day comes
and the sun rises once more
I’ll be the kid again
building your house
every sunday morning
listening to my grandmother
reading your holy writings
thinking, hoping, convinced
that the future will be mine

When I was a child
I used to believe.

~ por Victor Munguía en junio 25, 2014.

Responder

 
